School Closure Extended

Closure Extended through End of School Year
Posted on 04/17/2020
This is the image for the news article titled Closure Extended through End of School Year

Parents and Guardians,

This afternoon, April 17, 2020, Governor Gregg Abbott issued another executive order effectively closing schools for the rest of the 2019-2020 school year.  We will be getting more guidance from the Texas Education Agency next week.

We will continue instruction through our distance learning platform.  Students will continue to access learning via online learning or instructional packets.  The processes and procedures that have been put in place regarding instruction and meal distribution have been working and will continue.

Keep in mind, our last day of school is May 22, and we plan to provide distance learning up to that point; however, in the near future, we will release plans for students to return instructional materials, Chromebooks, and athletic and extra-curricular gear.  We are also working on plans for students and parents to be able to pick up student items that were left in lockers, dressing rooms, and classrooms. 

I know there will be other questions specific to campuses, so I want to encourage all parents and guardians to contact the principals of those campuses.  I know several parents have questions about our athletic programs, especially our summer programs.  I encourage all parents to contact our Athletic Director, Bryan Welps, with those questions.  Many employees are working from home, so don’t hesitate to leave a message or send an email.

Richard Kelley  – Superintendent – 381-7800 (richard.kelley@rrisd.net)

Andy Nies – Asst. Superintendent – 381-7800 (andy.nies@rrisd.net)

Dean Birkes – RR High School Principal – 383-8867 (dean.birkes@rrisd.net)

Penny Rosson – RR Middle School Principal – 383-8721 (penny.rosson@rrisd.net)

Erin Brandstatt – Rolling Hills Principal – 383-8621 (erin.brandstatt@rrisd.net)

Dana Bolin – Willow Vista ECA Principal – 383-8820 (dana.bolin@rrisd.net)

Bryan Welps - RR Athletic Director -- 383-8621 (bryan.welps@rrisd.net)

I know one of the biggest questions high school parents are asking deals with graduation for the class of 2020.  This is by far not the way we wanted this school year to end, especially for our Seniors.  I know River Road High School is still committed to celebrating graduation for that class.  I know Mr. Birkes and his team are working on details for that celebration and hope to be able to announce something soon.

During these unprecedented times and circumstances, we appreciate your continued patience, flexibility, and compassion as we all continue to work together to support our students.  If you know of anyone in the community that is having a difficult time accessing our services, please don’t hesitate to call one of the individuals above and let him or her know.

Stay Healthy, Stay Safe!

Richard Kelley, Superintendent

River Road ISD